My PhD life in 2015 as told by the internet

I’m a bit late writing this month’s post, so with it being the last day of 2015 I thought I’d sum up my year of PhDing. I’ve already written a post about this year already (sort of), so I thought I’d make this post a bit more fun and express the ups and downs of the year through memes and other internet picture things. Seems appropriate since I manage to procrastinate on the internet quite a lot whilst hoping and waiting for that flash of motivation.

So enjoy, and let me know if there are any other images you think would be good for the list!

It would be wrong of me to say that I haven’t been a bit stressed out this year…

stress

Maybe because often I feel like this

no idea

Or maybe it has something to do with this?

all the work 2

But when having meetings with all 5 of my supervisors about potential projects and chapters can often feel like this

lots of workers

Perhaps it’s not really any wonder that in fact this has become a reality on quite a few occasions 
nap

There have been many a time when I’ve questioned my productivity…

productivity

tired

… questioned my research methods and analyses…

scientists say

… and even struggled with seemingly easy tasks like writing emails.

time-to-write-an-email

But slowly I’m learning that it’s the little things on this PhD journey that can keep you going

paragraph

Particularly if there is wine and cake involved

cake

wine

I’m also becoming well accustomed to the following questions off friends and familyf7c00a650bc656e5fd781e1679e454d0
And finding myself feeling like

understand

And the replies from said friends and families after you’ve pulled together a half-convincing answer of what you are doing/how you are feeling about it all are, in fact, simply

mum phd

This year I’ve found myself in corners of the internet that I didn’t know existed

procrastination

and found this particular image scarily accurate

everyone married

I’ve tried to maintain a healthy lifestyle

stressed desserts

And keep that

work life balance
But for most of the time I’m like

sanity

But despite all this, I’ve managed to do some really cool things this year. Like take blurry selfies with lobsters…

IMG_4200

model new fashion collections in fish markets

IMG_3602

as well as visit some amazing places, all courtesy of the PhD.

11986940_10156074646155241_8013095814871768125_n

And, my research *may* be heading in the right direction! Woo!

yay

So, since it’s 2016 tomorrow, perhaps a new year’s resolution is in order?

procrastinate 1

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

