What I’ve been up to…

It’s been a bit of a hectic start to 2015 if I’m honest and sometimes I’m not sure if I’m coming or going! I have so much lined up in the next few weeks and months (more about that in a minute) and have done quite a bit so far too! I’m realising that my calendar/diary is my new best friend… However, overall I’d say it’s going pretty well!

I started back in January after Christmas with a meeting and innovation training event in Bristol as part of the NERC GW4+ DTP that I’m on. The first day was a small conference with some of the partners and organisations which are part of the DTP and it was useful to chat to people from different sectors and industry and share ideas for the future. I actually have to do a work place secondment as part of my PhD so it gave me a chance to have a think about where I want to go for that. Something policy related for sure! I also got to present a poster, my first time of making one, and I think it turned out pretty ok!

After a week back in the office I then went off to London to the Coastal Futures conference, which basically reflects on the things that have happened in the marine environment over the past year in terms of science/policy/industry. It was my first time attending and it was super useful and a good way to put my work into a wider context. I also met some interesting people who I hope I can contact into the future for some guidance and input on my own project… If you haven’t been before, I would definitely recommend going!

Work wise I’m getting along with the seemingly never ending task of writing my literature review, which is a task that is obviously needed but sometimes can be very frustrating to do! I enjoy the reading part, it’s just the condensing-everything-into-a-coherent-message which gets a bit tricky sometimes. Dispersed with that, I’m starting to get some data together to start the first phase of my project which is looking at how fish species have and will be affected by warming sea temperatures. I actually got to visit my supervisor at the Met Office the other day which was really cool. That place is seriously awesome, there is so much cool technology there and the supercomputers are huge!! I had to chuckle to myself though as I walked around the office as I think every computer screen just had someone coding at it. I guess that’s going to be me in a week or too…

Coming up next week, I’m off to Barcelona for the GAP2 project symposium which I’m really excited about! Not only is it because I get the chance to go to Barcelona (somewhere I’ve wanted to go for ages), but also because I think it’s going to be a great experience for me and a chance to learn lots of things which I can hopefully apply to my project. The aim of the meeting is to exchange ideas and ‘lessons learnt’ from multi-stakeholder engagement in fisheries research that has been taking place across Europe as part of an EU funded project GAP2, so it’s right up my street. There is also a workshop on social science methods which I’m looking forward to!

I also got some good news the other day which is that I’m now the new student rep for the British Ecological Society’s Climate Change Ecology group. It’s a great opportunity for me to be part of a committee and help organise events, network and learn some new things about a range of climate change ecology topics. I’ll keep you posted as to what we are planning and when!

I think that’s all for now, I’ll leave you with a few pictures of what I’ve been up to in my spare time when exploring Exeter and the surrounding countryside, mostly via horse back!IMG_2343 IMG_2362 IMG_2382 IMG_2395

Leave a Reply

